External content sharing is a good way to organically increase your social media presence. There may be some content that you publish in your app, that you’d like your users to be able to share outside the app also – with their social media friends. For example, a job posting or news about a charity fundraiser in your business. Anything that you wouldn’t mind people outside of your organisation reading.
Allowing your users to share content is simple. On a page in the CMS, simply tick the ‘Allow external sharing’ option on the right hand menu:
This will add a share icon to the screen, which when tapped, allows your users to share the page to other apps they have installed on their phone, such as Facebook, Linkedin, SMS, Whatsapp, etc.
When the page is shared, when opened it will display as a single webpage, hosted by TheAppBuilder. So those outside of your organisation will not be able to see any of your other app content, nor will they be able to see any likes or comments on that page that exist in your app.
Our social features – liking and commenting, can be enabled and disabled at channel level, and even if you have liking and commenting enabled for your channel, you can still choose to disable these for particular articles or pages.
Enabling / Disabling Social Features for a Channel
Click on the Cog Icon at the top of the CMS:
Then select ‘Channels’ under ‘Channel Management’ on the left menu
Now choose the channel for which you want to enable or disable liking and / or commenting by clicking ‘View’:
On the next screen, you have the ability to enable and disable liking and / or commenting by selecting or de-selecting the check boxes, then clicking ‘Save Changes’
Enabling / Disabling Social Features for a Page
If you have commenting and / or liking enabled for your channel, you will see the options to turn off commenting and liking for an individual page on the right, just under the Save and Publish Button:
Simply un-tick the required checkboxes to turn off social features for that page.